199 post giveaway!

I’ve had 199 posts in under a year and to celebrate I’m having a giveaway! Rather than wait until I’ve had 200 posts, I need your help in solving a problem that’s been going around my head this afternoon…

For your chance to win, I need a comment on this post with a suggestion for a name for my craft workshops. These workshops will run in evenings and weekends and teach a variety of crafts and skills by a variety of skilled tutors, from my farmhouse home in rural(ish) Leicestershire. I was thinking Rothley Contemporary Crafts, but ideally I’d like a mix of contemporary and traditional, so that won’t work. I also want a name that says what I do, so calling it “The Craft Atelier” isn’t hugely obvious to Joe Public. So I need your suggestions, from the simple and obvious, to wacky and original! The winner will be judged by myself based on the best name suggested, and who knows, I might just use it!

The prize will be tailored to the winner, based on their favourite colours, hobbies, etc, but you are guaranteed a piece of jewellery, some sweeties and some craft materials (if you craft) inside a lovely PennyDog tote bag! *cue OOOOH from the audience*

The competition is open for a week, so you have until midnight Thursday 4th June (GMT) to get commenting, and a winner will be announced shortly after- good luck!

22 Comments

  1. Posted May 27, 2009 at 6:21 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Penny Craft Workshops?
    Craft Haven
    Penny Dog Craft Studio

    I don’t know I will have a good think about it for you in hopes of offering some help.. and not jsut because I want to go to the workshops and possibly steal your doggies for a bit! I do think that Rothley Contemporary Crafts should still be in the running .. because modern crafts incoperate traditional crafting… as long as you state on your sigh and letter head that you hold classes in contemoprary and traditional craft mediums..

    I shall have a think anyway

  2. Posted May 27, 2009 at 6:40 pm | Permalink | Reply

    My 2cs… how about a name that catches peoples’ attention:
    Crafty Weekend Workshops
    Crafty Skills Workshops

    and then have a second line that describes what the workshops are about (along with another reason to join in):
    Learn a new skill – traditional or non-traditional – from skilled artisans and meet new people.

  3. Posted May 27, 2009 at 9:51 pm | Permalink | Reply

    How about Contempory & Country Crafts?

    Country Crafts are traditional crafts to me and also country would link with your rural setting……

  4. Torya
    Posted May 27, 2009 at 11:08 pm | Permalink | Reply

    It sounds like you’ll be doing a real mix of stuff – I can’t think of the right word, but how about a name like “The Craft *insert word that means eclectic or variety”. Sorry to be so vague, if I think of the right word I’ll come back and post again!

  5. Torya
    Posted May 27, 2009 at 11:11 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Or how about Craft Soup? 😀

  6. Posted May 28, 2009 at 12:26 am | Permalink | Reply

    Oooooooooh! 🙂

    Wow, what an exciting plan! I do like the name Rothley Contemporary Crafts, though. I guess using Pennydog in the name won’t work since you’re not going to be the only teacher?

    Hmmm…Handmade Haven?? Studio Handmade? Contemporary Creations?

  7. Nicole
    Posted May 28, 2009 at 1:04 am | Permalink | Reply

    how about Crafty Craftings
    I He(art)Crafts
    Farmhouse Art Workshops
    Farmhouse Craft Nights

  8. Posted May 28, 2009 at 2:08 am | Permalink | Reply

    The Artist’s Realm

  9. Posted May 28, 2009 at 2:47 am | Permalink | Reply

    How about
    Penny Whippet Craftivercity
    or
    Crafty Dog Academy
    or
    Pennydog College of Craftology

  10. Laura
    Posted May 28, 2009 at 10:06 am | Permalink | Reply

    How about Rothley Craft Farm.

    I do hope the crafters will be free range!

  11. Laura
    Posted May 28, 2009 at 10:06 am | Permalink | Reply

    I just thought, that could be your Slogan, Free range crafters!

  12. sliceoforganiclife
    Posted May 28, 2009 at 2:33 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Crafts in the Country? Sort of like, Sex and the City’esque!

  13. Laura
    Posted May 28, 2009 at 4:29 pm | Permalink | Reply

    OOO I just thought of another inspired by your “cheese room” room. It made me think say it how it is, so here is …. “handmade house”. I think that’s quite catchy.

  14. Posted May 28, 2009 at 7:14 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I actually think that you should use your BRAND in the name.
    PennyDog’s Creative Craft Workshops

    The fact that you are not teaching them all doesn’t actually matter! Using your name will enhance all aspects of your businesses!!

  15. Posted May 29, 2009 at 3:19 pm | Permalink | Reply

    How about:

    The Craft Cabin
    The Crafting Crew
    PennyDog Craft Cabin
    The Art of Craft at PennyDog
    PennyDog: The Art of Craft

    There will be more…

  16. Posted May 29, 2009 at 8:06 pm | Permalink | Reply

    hmmm, think, think

    PennyDog`s Creative Workshops
    (Happy) Crafty Hour at Rothley Workshops
    Crafts With Penny the Dog
    PennyDog`s Crafts Centre
    Rothley Crafts – Learn to Make

    I had a little brain storm…

  17. Posted May 31, 2009 at 2:26 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Rothley Craft Incubator- hatching the crafty creator in everyone.
    will be back if I can think of anything else .

  18. Posted May 31, 2009 at 9:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I quite like Craftwork. It has a contemporary influence but also relays the traditional.

  19. Ruth
    Posted June 1, 2009 at 2:25 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I would stick with the simple option –
    ‘Pennydog Crafts’

    – it is memorable at least and also links in with your existing ‘branding’. Pennydog gets you thinking about the name – is it a girl’s name, a favourite pet, why a penny etc. All the extra thinking/ speculation gets the imagination going and helps it stick in the brain. It keeps the option open for selling craft materials on the web etc. and is much more imaginative than a place name (which you would have to change if you expanded/ moved anywhere in the future).

  20. Posted June 2, 2009 at 1:52 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Pennydog Craft Kennel
    Craft Hideaway Sanctum

  21. Posted June 3, 2009 at 3:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

    HHmmmm

    Pennydog Craft Incubator

    Let’s you get the extra exposure with your name in the title and is different and grabs your interest !

  22. Posted June 4, 2009 at 11:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Lots of fab ideas so far. If you want to use your name…

    Pennydog Craft Club
    Make it with Pennydog
    Club Pennydog

    or if this is something very different to your brand….

    Make it
    Twist and Turn
    DIY crafters
    Handmade by me

    all with a byline, ‘contemporary and traditional craft workshops’)

    Good luck, sounds exciting!

Leave a Reply

