Chessboard project 2010: part 3

I can’t believe it’s been nearly a month since my lasdt chessboard update! You’ll be glad to hear that I have pretty much got the board all sorted now. All 64 tiles were cut and then glued to a base sheet of acrylic, cut to size and trimmed with tile finishing strip stuff (the technical name of course 😉 ). Grey resin was used as a grout between the tiles for a mosaic-y feel. The next step will be to sand and polish the surface of the board to remove all drips and give an even finish.

Out of the white set of chess pieces I have all of the pawns cast, the king and the two knights. I am wondering whether I should put gravel or a black feather in the rooks though- your help is needed so I can decide!

2 Comments

  1. Picklepea
    Posted February 4, 2010 at 3:31 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I like the idea of gravel in the rooks – they are meaty pieces and can do damage…:D

  2. Posted February 8, 2010 at 2:33 pm | Permalink | Reply

    A black feather would be really classy. i admire your patience with this project.

Leave a Reply

