Some new buys…

I have a new camera! I got myself a D90 yesterday to replace my tired old Fuji S5, but I can’t photograph it as I used it to take these pictures!

Last week I saw this outside a junk shop and had to buy it! It’s a Jones Sewing Machine and iron leg table, made in the UK and later bought out by Brother. I think it’s circa 1930s, but if you know more than me please let me know! It even had the old instruction manual and haberdashery bits. I have the wooden cover too and the key to lock it! I’ve started to sand it down as I plan to varnish it as it looks like lovely natural wood underneath the harsh black paint!

I bought this fabric deer head from a guy I saw at a craft fair. He sold the one I wanted before I had the money to pay for it, so I since ordered it custom and picked it up on Wednesday. Isn’t it fab?

Both look great in my new office!

5 Comments

  1. Posted February 27, 2010 at 12:07 am | Permalink | Reply

    I tried to find a link for you to date your machine but couldn’t find it – but somewhere there is a site that tells you what year based on the Registration number on the machine
    x chris

  2. Posted February 27, 2010 at 1:33 pm | Permalink | Reply

    ooh both gorgeous buys! i love old sewing machines and that deer head is fantastic!

  3. Posted February 27, 2010 at 8:12 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love all these things! Great finds.

  4. Posted March 3, 2010 at 8:50 pm | Permalink | Reply

    love love love the sewing machine… I nearly talked Matt into letting me get one that was at the charity shop in Belper a few months back, but it was still quite pricey so I had to let it go.. I’m still kicking myself…

    love the dear head too.. it made me smile..

  5. Posted April 8, 2010 at 3:08 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I got a table-top version of the Jones Family, like yours, and it’s so good! I don’t know if you plan on using yours, but I’ve had mine for over 3 years now, use it all the time for big patchwork projects and it hasn’t need a single repair. Best £20 I ever spent!

    The model type, if you’re interested, was patented in 1893. Mine is from 1895 (you can tell the year of the table-top versions fairly easily from the style of base) and its serial number is 63832. You should be able to tell if yours is from before or after this year according to that 🙂

    Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

