It’s not working…

I got a vacuum former last week- and I can’t get it to work properly yet. I did a tester with some acrylic that came with it and I didn’t let it get hot enough so that was a fail…

Then I thought maybe material would make a difference. Since I wanted to make moulds from polyethylene anyway, I waited till my delivery of 1mm HDPE came and then this happened…

I don’t know if it got too hot, or whether it’s not suitable for making bangles. Maybe I need LDPE so it’s more flexible? But then I have an area where the sheet has pulled away from the clamps which suggest it is too hot (or the clamp is faulty), and it would only get worse if I used a softer plastic surely? Is there a better way of doing things?

*sigh*

3 Comments

  1. Posted March 7, 2010 at 6:26 pm | Permalink | Reply

    my hubby used one of these when he was a technician at a school, he says would HIPS be suitable for what you want to do? he doesn’t recommend LDPE as it awkward to get the temperature right. He also says do you blow on it when you have raised the mould?

    if you want to email with any questions you are welcome xx

    • Posted March 7, 2010 at 6:53 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Hi, no blowing, it just stays hot for too long and bounces back- I don’t know what HIPS is but if it’s polystyrene based the resin will dissolve it, it needs to be a flexible material that I can make reuseable resin moulds from, the ones I’ve been buying are polyethylene, but open to other suggestions if they have the same properties when cool.

      Thanks! Kerry

  2. Sue
    Posted March 8, 2010 at 9:33 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Did it come with an instruction manual?
    If you are working on a wooden base you have to drill little holes where you want it to pull down, i.e in the middle of the bangle and around the edge.
    You bangles have quite big undercuts on them so it might be difficult to remove the bangles when you have vac-formed it.
    It does take a bit of trial and error to get it right.

Leave a Reply

