I think I’ll go and eat worms…

Nobody likes me, everybody hates me, I think I’ll go and eat worms…..

Seriously though I think I’m at a point where something needs to be done. I’ve had quite a lot of publicity recently, including yesterday when I was on the Etsy blog no less: http://www.etsy.com/storque/spotlight/uk-edition-dog-rescue-with-pennydogaccessories-7371/

However I am not getting the buyers in anymore. Lots of browsers, nobody likes my stuff enough to need it in their life. This is true to online and every single craft fair I have done this year. I haven’t even been able to cover my table cost at even one of the five I have been to. I know you can blame the time of year, but hell, I was doing really well online even in January!

So something needs to happen, I need to change something that’s going wrong. It’s not my marketing so it has to be something else.

What do I do? I’m completely blind to what is going wrong. The options are:

  1. Get some snazzy new photographs done (this is kind of happening slowly as all the shoots that have been planned by 3 different photographers have been cancelled so far. Fun).
  2. Change something on my website, how it works, maybe add a feature…
  3. Streamline my products even more (this does NOT appeal).
  4. Get off my ass and concentrate on working on those prototype new knitting needles, belts, etc.
  5. Something else.

I think I’m almost too bland in a way, but that was kind of my selling point. However I now just fade into the background and I don’t know what to do about it.

Help!

13 Comments

  1. Posted March 11, 2010 at 6:13 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I haven’t had as many sales since january either. I did quite well in Jan and I’ve never made me money back on a table at fairs so they were pretty short lived.

    I think people are cutting back now, as I have had lots of interest too and magazines features.

    You are right that something needs to change though!

  2. Posted March 11, 2010 at 6:19 pm | Permalink | Reply

    New stuff is always good – but how about making the link between your blog and website a little stronger?

    Maybe have a little row of images from the shop – or a more prominent link at the top. You never know – the people who land here might not have even seen it! 🙂

    There are various reasons as to why conversion rates can drop – and some of the factors are totally out of your control, like Laura says above.

    I’m not sure I’d describe your products as bland, but I think I’d definitely encourage you to go further down the stylish/funky/crazy route – it’s definitely one of the things I look for when buying bits and bobs!

  3. Posted March 11, 2010 at 6:43 pm | Permalink | Reply

    well i don’t think you’re bland and i do think it’s the time of year – i know i’m skint maybe everyone else is too? You got stacks of interest when you started doing the knitting needles so maybe you need to have a brainstorm and see what new stuff you can think of.

  4. Posted March 11, 2010 at 8:44 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I agree – you are certainly not bland. I think it is just the economic climate. I am sure that others will come up with tips, which I will be reading avidly!

  5. Posted March 11, 2010 at 8:55 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Definitely not bland! And you’re always so full of ideas… and it’s always good to work on new stuff if it makes you feel more enthusiastic too.

  6. Posted March 11, 2010 at 10:40 pm | Permalink | Reply

    YOU ARE NOT BLAND!!! It sound like your in a bit of a rut at the minute, and you have so much other stuff going on at the mo as well. Maybe this is a good time to try something a bit different, use this time of quiet sales to experiment. People clearly like your stuff as you have sold loads, remember that!

  7. Jayne Williams
    Posted March 12, 2010 at 5:12 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Your work is great, I think its a number of factors – time of year – its still too cold to need new spring clothes so people don’t buy new jewellery either. More people are doing resin including high st shops (not as well as hand made) Maybe you need to recontact your customer base and give them an offer – I used to be in telesales and was told its easier/cheaper to keep exsisting customers than find/sell to new ones. Good luck and keep your chin up.

  8. Posted March 12, 2010 at 6:20 pm | Permalink | Reply

    You are not bland. I think people are just tightening their purse strings at the moment. Sometimes I look at the c**p cheap jewellery in supermarkets etc and wonder how genuine art and craft people can compete. I bought two pairs of your earrings for presents at Christmas and they were both appreciated. Off to look at your shop now.

  9. Posted March 12, 2010 at 6:29 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Definately not bland Kerry! I love your stuff. Like vV says, I think everyone’s a bit skint. I certainly am. If you do go and eat worms, make sure they’re the jelly kind :o)

  10. Posted March 13, 2010 at 6:50 pm | Permalink | Reply

    You certainly don’t blend into the background!

    Perhaps it is just the way things go, sometimes there’s a lull. I think the best advice I’ve heard on the etsy forums is that when times are slow, make the most of it and getting making!
    I first discovered you through your knitting needles, and from your book I really really like those pendants that you made with the pictures printed onto clear acetate (well I think it was acetate?!) and embedded! I would love to see more of those!!

    Good luck, and chin up, you make great stuff and write well too so keep going!

  11. Posted March 15, 2010 at 6:40 pm | Permalink | Reply

    please don’t eat worms – they’re not very tasty, even with ketchup!

    seriously though, you are not bland so please don’t even think about streamlining what you offer. i agree with pretty much what everyone has already said, i think we all have these ruts from time to time, but you are really well placed to pick up again once the market picks up too. you’ve had a lot of interest and hopefully once we get into spring this will translate into orders 🙂

    oh and i also popped on to say that your feature is now on my blog.

    keep us posted and if i have any brainwaves i’ll be sure to share.

  12. Posted March 16, 2010 at 9:42 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love your stuff and think it’s original and should be flying out of your stores!

    I think on places like etsy people always go for the cheaper option, I know I’ve wondered why some of my items haven’t sold and then find that people are offering similar items at cheaper prices. I just can’t compete with that as getting supplies costs me a lot of money and time and we can only lower the prices so much yet people only care about how cheap they can get things for.

    I would go with the taking new pictures route & see if that improves your sales. Good luck! x

  13. Posted March 17, 2010 at 3:41 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I hope you don’t give up on your resin! I’m just thinking of trying my hand at resin casting and your site and blog have just given me oodles of inspiration.

    I agree with most other people at the moment – I think it’s just the market right now. Where I live we are buffeted economically by a nearby power plant, so we haven’t noticed the recession quite as much as everyone else, but I’m sure everyone is still recovering from it.

    Kel x

Leave a Reply

