Resin swap- sent and received!

I have received my swap parcel from Kara, and I know now that she has received mine, so I can now blog it!

Here’s what I sent:



A diamante skull brooch (because she loves rhinestones) and a Bracelet made with pieces from fashion magazines (because she loves fashion photos)…. I also sent a gold leaf ring which isn’t pictured here.


Now I should have photographed the packaging too, because my swap gift came in a cute little chinese takeaway style cardboard box! I received this cherub necklace, and my absolute favourite is this apple themed ring- it has a vintage style graphic inside and is beautifully shaped. I even got a little tip on the best sandpaper to use for enlarging the inside a little- thanks Kara!

It has got me thinking though, this ring seems a lot less fragile and a lot nicer finished (and less residual smell!) than a lot of my rings turn out, and as a big advocate of polyester resin, I’m starting to think I should convert to epoxy. Yes it’s a bit more expensive, but if I’m happier with the results I could probably sell my work for a pound or two more to cover the difference. I know that one of my grievances about the bendiness of epoxy can sometimes be a useful property too, though I believe it’s probably operator error as to why that seems to happen to me! I will be stocking a special epoxy resin myself later in the year, so maybe then is the time to convert.

Love it- thanks Kara!

3 Comments

  1. Posted April 15, 2010 at 4:11 pm | Permalink | Reply

    epoxy has pluses and minuses. it can be fragile too.. I dropped a ring on a concrete floor and the ring shank cracked.. I wanted to cry.
    I’m jealous of the use of polyester because I believed it polishes up better.. and is also more water-clear. my roommate would hate me though.

  2. Posted April 15, 2010 at 11:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    lovely swap goodies :o)
    love the crystal encrusted skull PD

  3. Posted April 21, 2010 at 4:46 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Really nice pieces of jewellery!
    Is there a flickr group or somewhere where everyones swap items can be seen?

Leave a Reply

