I’m really untidy at the minute and this is why…

I’m working on a 2 week assignment to make 250 necklaces and 125 charms. This is really testing me since by the time my moulds were ready I only had 10 days! My fingers are bleeding from invisible wounds from all the sanding I’ve been doing. Yuck. So I’m taking a break right now.

Anyway this is the progress…




These moulds are constantly full. I’m backing the pieces with gelcoat because it sets faster which means I can get almost two batches a day, which is 52 pendants and 32 bracelet charms. I keep track of what has been casted successfully in a book.


I have stuff that has been demoulded and is airing, then stuff I’m currently sanding moves to the TV room…


Then I have stuff being varnished to cut out some of the sanding and polishing stages and speed everything up a bit…


And those that got sanded but have bubbles have their own section for filling, and then they’ll re-enter the sanding chain. Anything with uber bubbles is binned.


And lastly this is my tub of finished pieces to be put in a bath of Demon Shine then drilled and hung on necklaces.

I think I can do it!

6 Comments

  1. Sally Ashurst
    Posted May 10, 2010 at 6:02 pm | Permalink | Reply

    wow kerry these new pieces look amazing!! well done 🙂

  2. Posted May 11, 2010 at 12:15 am | Permalink | Reply

    These look fabulous! Keep going – you can do it! 🙂

  3. Posted May 11, 2010 at 12:28 am | Permalink | Reply

    wow looks like quite a project – but it looks like you have it under control!

    Debbie

  4. Posted May 11, 2010 at 11:38 am | Permalink | Reply

    Have you got a big sale coming up? I keep thinking about your poor finger. Ouch.

  5. Posted May 12, 2010 at 12:53 am | Permalink | Reply

    wow – this is great to see all the work in progress – resin is so exhausting to work with – i am amazed you stay sane!

  6. Posted May 13, 2010 at 4:02 pm | Permalink | Reply

    So kind of you to share pictures! Love seeing the work in progress.

Leave a Reply

