I QUIT… an update

In a discussion via Etsy convo, I have suggested that I am granted permission to sell these and therefore the items could be returned to me using the usual distance selling cooling off period, entitling them to a refund. I’m still waiting for Etsy’s response anyway since they have been contacted but it’s a definite option in my opinion. I know this is the “easy” get out, but hear me out πŸ™‚

The designs are copyrighted illustrations, and there are 5 of them. I have been given sole permission to sell these, and just until the designs run out. I have 250 necklaces and 125 1″ charms being returned.

So here’s the plan, let me know what you think. On receipt of the items back in the UK, I issue the refund. I then chuck out the ones I always wasn’t happy with, and spruce up any others that need it. On 10th June I start a four day trade show and can run special offers at maybe Β£5-6 a necklace and some other options. If I can sell most of them over the course of the year by transferring the promotion over to my website after the show, then I have made the money back and made the rest of my wages back too, which I wouldn’t get just by hanging onto the deposit.

I wish I could show you the designs but I didn’t photograph them! D’oh. Anyway I have smaller pieces which I could make into earrings and bracelets and also I could make some of the bigger pieces into keyrings and reuse the ribbon cords the pendants are hanging on for my own stuff.

What do you think?

9 Comments

  1. Posted May 26, 2010 at 8:38 am | Permalink | Reply

    Oh gosh, that’s a tough one. It means more work for you but if you think you can make your money back it would be something. But really they ought to pay up. I don’t know what else to say as I am totally out of my depth on this. It’s a rotten, rotten, situation and one you don’t deserve.
    Don’t let it put you off your work though. You’ll bounce back, I know you will. Hope the house hunting goes alright. Where are you moving to?
    Best of luck once again. I’m watching closely to see what happens.
    Fiona xx

  2. Posted May 26, 2010 at 8:52 am | Permalink | Reply

    always good to have a ‘plan B’

  3. Posted May 26, 2010 at 9:15 am | Permalink | Reply

    sounds like a good compromise. at least it will help you recoup the Β£200 you’ve paid for materials. i know you can’t recoup the time spent working on the order, which is a shame. still think it’s a good topic for an article for the magazine, about how a large order can sometimes turn out to be a wolf in sheep’s clothing.

    well done on finding a way to turn a negative into a positive, not everyone has the strength of character to be able to do that πŸ™‚

  4. Posted May 26, 2010 at 9:35 am | Permalink | Reply

    I think that may be a good idea, but I don’t know what would I do in this situation, anyway four day show it is a long day and if you can take the pieces you already have made, there is not much need for preparation so you can have some time spare (maybe for new ideas to make πŸ™‚ )

    good luck with all your decisions

    Izabela

  5. Posted May 26, 2010 at 9:49 am | Permalink | Reply

    Well it would def be better than just letting them keep them for the deposit even if it would be more work. Its not perfect- they should just cough up really- but I love the fact you are thinking about how you can both get what you want. Fingers crossed for you xxx

  6. Posted May 26, 2010 at 10:45 am | Permalink | Reply

    Eeek, what a horrible situation – think you’re keeping wonderfully positive, which is something not everyone would be able to do in your shoes. Hope you can find a way of sorting it… have to agree that you getting them back and being allowed to sell them, while time consuming, is probably a better option than only having the deposit. Good luck πŸ™‚

  7. Posted May 26, 2010 at 11:31 am | Permalink | Reply

    I think it’s a good idea. Just what I thought all along. But… don’t sell them cheaper thinking that you should just unload them so you get back what you put in them. Sell them at usual costs with the normal profit. This is what you would usually would do as all us crafter/artists do. Just because they were made for her doesn’t mean you should sell your self short. You should now get the profit she was looking for. It;s your work, you deserve it ! Good luck and I will keep listening to how this goes. Oh and make sure you cancel the sale on etsy as well, then no bad feed back (if it hasn’t been left yet) and you get your fees back for the sale. This is what I did too. Also I have had people before that did something like this and when I said, fine send it back, I will refund- they changed their mind a day or two later because they look at them again and the thought of none verses the one’s they have wins out. (((((((hugs))))))))

  8. Posted May 26, 2010 at 12:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

    well i think you are being very very good and professional about this situation – i wouldn’t sell ’em off cheap though, sell at your normal prices although sometimes a bargain at a show may lead to other sales :o) good luck with it x

  9. Posted May 26, 2010 at 5:16 pm | Permalink | Reply

    As VintageViolet said, don’t sell them off too cheap, you should try if possiable to at least get what you were orginally sold them for, or as near to it as you can; although I can see how you probably just want to see the back of them!

Leave a Reply

