Looking for inspiration

Today the OH told me I should turn my workspace into a multicraft room and I should broaden my crafts and skills. Yes, seriously! I’ve done very little in the way of resin crafting recently and just looking at stuff I’ve made makes me bored. I think I’ve pretty much decided to ditch Polyester resin and go for an epoxy- it’s healthier and I prefer to finish- less brittle and it’s a bit stretchy in the first 24 hours which can lend itself to some experimentation. I make some simple little shapes in a resin test I’ve been doing for a resin manufacturer and they have started to make me love the material again. The way the colour works, the smooth finish, the rigidity, the clarity.

So I’m going to start making one off pieces, stop churning out loads of the same stuff and refuse big custom orders from new people (happy to keep my current stockists though!). I’m now looking for inspiration to take this in another direction style-wise too. I’ll do some doodles and let you know when I’ve found it.

3 Comments

  1. Posted May 15, 2011 at 9:14 pm | Permalink | Reply

    all sounds good to me 🙂 there is no way i can work in batches i get so bored.Look forward to seeing your new designs 🙂

  2. Posted May 16, 2011 at 9:15 am | Permalink | Reply

    Loving your OH!
    So mice to hear about a man that encourages to make more mess and spend more money! *lol*

  3. Posted May 17, 2011 at 8:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

    looking forward to seeing what you come up with!
    i’m always envious of polyester but the fumes are too much for me.
    I’m hoping to get re-inspired here soon myself.. it comes and goes with the seasons.

Leave a Reply

