Quilt finished and crafting fears!

I finished the quilt with time to spare and I am well and truly over my fear of jelly rolls, if anything they’re so much easier than big stretches of fabric that need cutting up as I didn’t enjoy cutting the borders! It was expertly quilted by Chris of Father’s Heart Country Quilting and I would certainly go back to her again. All that was left was for me to patch up some stretched seams and sew on the binding which I did last night. I used bias tape because I am still too intimidated to make my own (and I wanted the damn thing finishing so I could move on to chocolate making). I could also do with some bias tape sewing lessons so I will have to get my big reference book out and read up again because at times I didn’t managed to hit all the layers on my sewing machine and needed to go back over a few parts, and my hand sewing is so atrocious there was no way I was doing it by hand (believe me, I tried a few times and then decided it wasn’t going to work).

 

Now I just have to conquer my sewing pattern fear over the next two evenings to get a dress made for the wedding this weekend. The fabric is great and I have cut out the pattern pieces but I am intimidated by the actual cutting out process and zips! I may end up just wearing whatever I find in my wardrobe that’s clean…. Does anyone else have crafting fears? I know you do, so many people message me about resin fears… I want to hear them all!

7 Comments

  1. Posted August 17, 2011 at 9:56 am | Permalink | Reply

    ooh its beautiful!
    Maria x

  2. Posted August 17, 2011 at 9:58 am | Permalink | Reply

    Eeee Kerry, the quilt is FABULOUS!!

    I have fears almost every time I pick up my crafting stuff or venture into the kitchen… so often the idea in my head doesn’t translate to the actual materials. But it usually works out somehow even if it’s not quite as I imagine, lol…

    Zips are supposed to be one of those things that are terrifying but really easy once you’ve done one. Practice on scrap material first maybe? Looking forward to seeing the finished thing 🙂

    Carla x

  3. Posted August 17, 2011 at 10:08 am | Permalink | Reply

    I fear all the same things you do. I have tons of half finished projects and untouched sewing pattetns because im just too scared to tackle them. Silly huh?

  4. Posted August 17, 2011 at 10:09 am | Permalink | Reply

    P.s your quilt is beautiful

  5. Posted August 17, 2011 at 11:00 am | Permalink | Reply

    Awwww it’s such a beautiful quilt!

    I am rubbish at all things crafty and am always amazed at your enthusiasm and skill 🙂

    This is wonderful 🙂

    xx

  6. Posted August 18, 2011 at 8:07 am | Permalink | Reply

    Patterns… I don’t know why but I fail at them and can’t cut anything straight. I’m petrified of quilting though I did try a few blocks once and gave up before there were enough of them to quilt. I may try again someday if I can find someone to hold my hand through it.

    P.s. The quilt looks beautiful!

  7. Posted August 18, 2011 at 9:46 am | Permalink | Reply

    This is stunning – so intricate & pretty. Well done! XX

Leave a Reply

