Bundles and WIPs

Only three weeks to go ’til the Festival of Quilts! When I go I know I’m definitely going to subscribe to Popular Patchwork and I need to get a new cutting mat that is at least 16″ on the shortest side as my mat won’t even fit my 12″ squaring up ruler which is quite annoying! It’s cut to shreds anyway- I’ve definitely had a good two years wear out of the current one.

Anyway, depending on how much I end up spending, I would like to buy one of these bundles this month, either at the show or at Fat Quarter Shop if they are nowhere to be seen/too expensive. Check these beauties out…

Birds and Berries by Lauren and Jessi Jung…


Polka Dot Stitches by Lori Holt…

And my absolute favourite- Heaven and Helsinki by Patty Young.

***
WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced
For WIP Wednesday (yes I’m joining in this time!) I’m working on my mini quilt for the Brit Quilt Swap. I’ve actually done a little more on it this morning-it’s now over 1/4 done! It’s a nice project because I can just sew four pieces together and trim and leave it until I have time to sew another four pieces together. It’s quicker and easier than it looks too. Some of my points aren’t exactly matching but it’s quite a forgiving design and you can’t tell too much. I hope my swap partner will like it when it’s all done. I have a few more weeks yet thankfully.

I’m also working on my Salt Air quilt, but with no pictures, sorry! It’s actually not going to be a quilt now- I’m going to measure up the window in my craft room and make it into long-awaited curtains! Who knows, I may even get the skirting boards painted in the warm weather and get them on the walls too- wonders never cease!

I’m also making it a mission to add at least one item to one of my Etsy shops every day until the end of August, whether it’s Trufflepiglet, the patterns shop or my general shop. I added two yesterday and I plan to do the same today. Who’s with me?

7 Comments

  1. Posted July 25, 2012 at 10:56 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love the polka dot stitches and your paper piecing looks great!

  2. Kristy @ Quiet Play
    Posted July 25, 2012 at 11:46 am | Permalink | Reply

    Love your paper piecing – it’s looking great!

    Great fabric choices too – isn’t that new Patty Young line fabulous!

  3. Posted July 25, 2012 at 1:38 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love that mini-quilt..

  4. Posted July 25, 2012 at 3:14 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Birds and Berries! Yum! I have a jelly roll of Flora waiting patiently for me….love anything by Lauren and Jessi Yung. Your paper piecing is stunning!

  5. Posted July 25, 2012 at 3:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Great Brit swap mini—you are doing a terrific job on it! Do you have the link for the pattern? U say it is easy?

    You picked out some cute fabric lines too:)

    • Posted July 25, 2012 at 3:47 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Sara, it’s from Craftsy called the Good Luck Star- I think it was only a couple of dollars! It’s by “Banner Creek Designs”

  6. Angela Garrett
    Posted July 29, 2012 at 10:02 am | Permalink | Reply

    I can hardly wait until the FOQ, although i’m scared i’ll be bankrupt by the end of it due to all of the fabric buying opportunities!! At least you’ve managed to narrow down some of your choices, i’m still in the overwhelmed, wide eyed stage, hopefully i’ll get over it on the big day!.

Leave a comment