The start of something wonderful…

I got the keys to this place on Friday! Yes, all of it (except the Lexus 4×4)!

All of the rooms are huge, including the kitchen…

The breakfast room (which will be the pie room as OH is going into business with a local chef)…

The man room (where OH will go to think upon manly things- see deer head for scale!)…

The living room (which was once the full house, back when it was a boarding house for monks back in the 12th Century)…

This is the courtyard area for parking, behind the pig sties (where we are going to keep chickens) is the garden. We even have a well!

And of course the bit you all are waiting to see… here is my workshop/studio room! By the way those chairs are definitely not staying.

Not sure about the carpet- it’s in good nick and sort of the colours I want, do I pull up and replace with lino, or do I cover it with clear plastic (either way it needs to be resinproof)?

This is the sewing machine desk in the corner, though the plug isn’t compatible, so don’t think I’ll be using it. It has been untouched for years, and so I felt bad rifling through the stuff of an old lady who passed away. This includes what I like to call “the embroidery of guilt” which after finding it half finished, I feel I owe it to the lady to finish it. Or maybe I should frame it half done? What do you think? I have lots of questions!

And this is the shop area! The picture is taken from the front door, which will be the “trade entrance”, the room to the left of the grandfather clock is the workroom. The other doors aren’t in use, the closest one is mysteriously locked, and the other one is full of old trinkets and mouse poo (including a hip flask I found that still has alcohol in it)!

I plan on moving this mirror from the bedroom down into the shop too…

Also today I went to Breedon Priory again and came back with all of this stuff!

27 Comments

  1. Posted May 3, 2009 at 5:29 pm | Permalink | Reply

    It all looks so good!!!!!!! I’m so excited for you!!!! :D:D I really hope that it all goes well and that you get lots and lots of enjoyment from it all.

    btw, I think you should finish the embroidery I think it would be lovely to have something like that up. I don’t think its weird, I have finished embroideries my sister in law started before she died and it felt nice to finish it for her xxxxx

  2. Posted May 3, 2009 at 6:29 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wow. I don’t really know what else to say, it’s just stunning! And definitely the start of something very wonderful I’m sure xx

  3. Posted May 3, 2009 at 8:11 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This looks so idyllic… like something out of a fairy tale. Congratulations to you!

  4. Posted May 3, 2009 at 9:12 pm | Permalink | Reply

    It certainly is oldy-worldy, just the way I like houses. I love old houses, especially the one you have bought. All your ideas sound facinating and hope they turn out for you. Afterall, you work hard enough!! So is the shop going to be a pie shop – did I get that right?? How interesting – a lovely spot for it on the green. Bet you can’t wait to start renovating your workshop and studio. You will love it. Good luck

  5. Laura
    Posted May 3, 2009 at 9:13 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I am so pleased for you and very envious as it looked totally amazing and I love all the crazy things you have found already! That locked door is a curious one and I want to know what’s inside! Have great fun in your wonderland!

  6. Posted May 3, 2009 at 10:41 pm | Permalink | Reply

    wow amazing! definitely try to finish this lovely embroiery (I bet you could use it as a sort of relaxation šŸ™‚ )

    good luck with it! I hope all goes perfect!

    xxx

  7. Posted May 3, 2009 at 11:52 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh MY Goodness – that is one fantastic house!
    hope you will be very happy living/working there x

  8. epheriell
    Posted May 4, 2009 at 1:07 am | Permalink | Reply

    I’m speechless. In Oz, the oldest stuff is, you know, around 200ish years old… and you’re living in a house that was built over 400 years ago??? It’s just amazing…

  9. Posted May 4, 2009 at 6:57 am | Permalink | Reply

    Congrats!! Beautiful place!

  10. Posted May 4, 2009 at 9:18 am | Permalink | Reply

    That is such a beautiful house. I bet you are very happy there.
    And yes finish the old lady’s embroidery.

  11. Posted May 4, 2009 at 9:54 am | Permalink | Reply

    That is one lovely place. Looks just perfect. Good luck with it all X

  12. Posted May 4, 2009 at 9:56 am | Permalink | Reply

    What a stunning house! I’m sure you will be very happy there and create lots of wonderful things!

  13. Posted May 4, 2009 at 9:59 am | Permalink | Reply

    it looks fantastic!

  14. Posted May 4, 2009 at 10:56 am | Permalink | Reply

    Wow You are one very lucky girl !!!
    All the best to both you and OH in your new home!!

  15. Posted May 4, 2009 at 1:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

    great house! I can’t wait to see what you do with it.. and I want to know whats behind the mysterious locked door… just becareful you do find yourself in Narnia or soemthing stranger!

  16. Posted May 4, 2009 at 2:32 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Looks such a wonderful place! Do hope you’ll be happy working and living in it. It sounds like an Alladin’s cave as well, with things to be discovered and spooky locked doors . . . !

  17. Posted May 4, 2009 at 2:38 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wow! Just Wow! I am really very jealous of that house. It’s amazing! And I can’t wait to see how you transform it all!

  18. Posted May 4, 2009 at 8:15 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I am so unbelievably jealous I feel ashamed!! All the very best for all your plans.

  19. Posted May 4, 2009 at 8:32 pm | Permalink | Reply

    You lucky thing – what an inspiring place to live and work. Re the embroidery, do you know anyone who would finish it?

  20. Posted May 5, 2009 at 11:25 am | Permalink | Reply

    Congrats! I am very envious, looks lovely!

  21. Posted May 5, 2009 at 2:26 pm | Permalink | Reply

    You lucky, lucky, lucky, lucky, lucky, lucky, etc… etc..

  22. Posted May 5, 2009 at 2:40 pm | Permalink | Reply

    It looks absolutely beautiful, just like the design of your blog.
    Wishing you health and happiness.

  23. Posted May 5, 2009 at 7:57 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh wow, oh wow – the sort of forever house that I dream of! So happy for you and wishing you every happiness and success in your new home and new ventures!

  24. Posted May 6, 2009 at 4:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I am green with envy. Madly love it, especially because of all the lost goodies you are finding! Hope there are lots of treasures in the locked closet!

  25. Posted May 9, 2009 at 8:22 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh my, you must be thrilled (and I am so jealous!). What a beautiful – and practical – place. Good luck, and don’t forget to post regular photographic updates.

  26. Posted May 11, 2009 at 2:59 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh holy cow!

    That place looks amazing. I’m coming to live in that locked cupboard! You’d never notice me!

  27. Posted May 14, 2009 at 5:55 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I adore your very old house, and am somewhat envious, as well, teehee! Finish the embroidery…the lady would want you to…
    xxx
    Paula

Leave a Reply

