Sharpening your rotary cutter on the cheap

I was looking for a rotary blade sharpener online as I go through a blade a week (despite not cutting that much- I think I’m pressing too hard or cutting too many layers). However I came across a cheap way of doing it…

Take an arms length of foil and fold it up several times.

Roll your rotary cutter over it over and over again, testing on scraps to see if it’s getting sharper! I ended up with this mess…

However it didn’t stay sharp for long, but hopefully it will work better for you- I swear I’m doing something wrong in my cutting. Still, I’m hoping Santa or the birthday fairy will bring me a “proper” one and save me some pennies spent on blades!

4 Comments

  1. Posted October 14, 2012 at 1:05 pm | Permalink | Reply

    The TrueCut sharpener is pretty good and a total bargain at £30 if you’re needing a new blade each week. It makes blades about 80% new again and you can sharpen the same blade quite a few times. Happy to sharpen some for you if you want to post them to me and include a return stamp!

  2. Posted October 14, 2012 at 4:13 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Kerry, i used the same technique until a couple of months back, but as you said, it doesn’t stay sharp long. i now have a proper sharpener, and it does last longer, but still needs regular re-sharpening, however, it’s cheaper than buying lots of new blades!! Ange x

  3. Posted October 14, 2012 at 5:30 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’m in the same boat as you….longing for a proper sharpener! Maybe we will both get one for Christmas! 🙂

  4. Posted October 15, 2012 at 11:00 am | Permalink | Reply

    great tip to last until you can find a good place to shaper it !

Leave a Reply

