Book Review: Pre-cut Combo Quilts by Debra Fehr Greenway

This review is brought to you by Angela who is kindly guest blogging today. Her blog Heart of Charnwood can be found HERE.

When the lovely Kerry wanted someone to do a book review of this book, I jumped at the chance. I love quilting books, and the chance to have a good snoop around a new one was just too good to resist. So, what can I tell you about this book?

Well, the basic premise of the book is quilts made using pre-cuts (surprise), i.e Jelly Rolls, Charm Squares, Layer Cakes etc, which on first glance looks like its been done before, but this book offers something (Ithink) is a little bit different. And thats because it offers the opportunity to use Fat Quarters instead, so if you don’t have the requisite pre-cuts there are alternative FQ cutting guides.

Now for me, that would be perfect, as I don’t buy many pre-cuts, and when I see fabric I love, I buy a few FQ’s from the range, and then sometimes don’t know exactly what to do with them.

Another good aspect of this book, is the final section, which covers the use of panels.

I have a couple of these too, which I thought would make fun, easy baby quilts, but I hadn’t been inspired to use them, until now.

I think my favourite quilt design in the book is Pre-Cuts Potpourri, with its varying sizes of squares, which i think would look great with a good mix of solids, some cute embroidered squares, and some pastel patterned fabrics.

Some of the actual fabrics aren’t exactly my style, I prefer a bigger mix of solid fabrics, but there are some really great designs and the book is very well written, which means it’s well worth a look.

Pre-cut Combo Quilts is available from RUCraft, currently at £12.74.

5 Comments

  1. Posted September 20, 2012 at 4:29 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks for the good review, Angela!

  2. Posted September 20, 2012 at 8:41 pm | Permalink | Reply

    love quilt books

  3. Posted September 20, 2012 at 10:16 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you for reviewing this book, I was wondering what it is like.

  4. Posted September 20, 2012 at 11:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Great review.

  5. Posted September 21, 2012 at 8:39 am | Permalink | Reply

    Thx everyone, it’s my first one, I hope you found it helpful! Ange x

Leave a comment