New for 2010- plans are underway…

For a while I’ve wanted to0 make something BIG, some kind of centrepiece for when I go to fairs to draw in the crowds. I wanted to make an electric guitar body and then add the components to make it a fully working model, but the cost of the silicone to make the mould was just too scary. Now I have decided to make a 40cm square chessboard and staunton pieces! I think I would make the board from acrylic squares mounted on a slightly bigger sheet of clear/frosted acrylic, though I am toying with the idea of making the squares from resin. The pieces would then be made from resin too! It’s just knowing what colours to do, whether I should embed any objects, etc. Have you any thoughts?

Here’s my first trial piece!

Also lined up for next year are selection packs of buttons by colour and also improved knitting needle packaging and manufacture to stop the issues that have arisen with some of my Christmas orders! I plan to supply them in clear tubes with pretty fabric ends, and instead of making to order, only selling those that have had at least a week to settle and solidify. In addition there will be two new designs to the range which will be available for Valentine’s day!

I will also be having a “spring clean” on the website- taking out any slow sellers or items I don’t feel like making anymore to make it more concise and less overwhelming, and there will be a 50p price rise on resin moulds from January 1st too, so lots going on- better buy now to avoid disappointment!

Have a great Christmas (and it’s my birthday tomorrow)!

7 Comments

  1. Posted December 21, 2009 at 4:12 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love the idea of a really deep chess board, say 2″ thick, with some ‘bits’ floating around, maybe broken bits of chess pieces?

  2. Posted December 21, 2009 at 10:10 pm | Permalink | Reply

    looks great! maybe embed some miniature chess pieces inside a clear resin …
    Can’t wait to see the buttons!
    … Happy birthday for tomorrow! x

  3. Laura
    Posted December 22, 2009 at 12:21 am | Permalink | Reply

    Happy Birthday for tomorrow.

    I’d go for two bright contrasting colours like red and green (feeling a bit too festive at the moment – but you get the idea). I also kinda like the idea of white/clear and black but with glitter in.

    And you could resin in pictures of the pieces on the chess board where the pieces are meant to go, so people don’t put them in the wrong places!

  4. Posted December 22, 2009 at 7:07 am | Permalink | Reply

    The buttons sound interesting, can’t wait to see them. Happy birthday, I hope you have a good one & Happy Christmas while I’m here

  5. Posted December 22, 2009 at 10:17 am | Permalink | Reply

    This will look geat. I agree with black and clear pieces with glitter. How fab. I am glad you are going to continue with the knitting needles, they are great.

  6. Gemma
    Posted December 22, 2009 at 4:36 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oooh! Can’t wait to see your new stuff. Have people been rubbish with knitting needles then? I wouldn’t mind waiting a couple of weeks for made to order. If it takes that long then that’s just how it is to get something so special.
    I’m liking the bright blue chess piece. What about solid colours and stripey ones for something different? Black and white with glitter would be good too!
    Happy birthday Kerry. Hope you have a fantastic day xxx

  7. Posted December 26, 2009 at 2:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hey Kerry- I absolutely love the thought of the chess set, its gonna be fantastic!

Leave a Reply

